Journey to 1,000

Weak Five

Leave a comment

Yes. It’s spelled incorrectly correctly. I swear. (Though my mother and most elementary teachers wouldn’t probably believe me.)

The truth of the matter is sometimes you have to call a spade a spade, and my Journey overall has felt weak for the past 14 days. Even the writing part, which is assuredly easier for me than running four miles on the treadmill, has suffered. Easier or not, you may have noticed that the lack of a “Week Four” post. (Thanks for picking up the slack Brad.)

It is easy to hide behind excuses. I have been super busy with church, friends, community service, work, weekend trips, and dinner events. I’ve had a little pain in a few areas and it’s rarely been above 0 degrees in my hometown lately.

But really, it comes down to prioritizing. I could go to bed on time and get up early, stretch right, hit a nice warm gym and then head to work, but I haven’t been great about doing that. Even now it’s 10:35 and I have no clue how far into this post I am. (Hopefully, for my sake and yours, it’s halfway.)

So, no excuses. I had a shitty week. Okay, a COUPLE of weeks.

But I think it’s going to be okay.

Because the reality of the situation is that despite not getting out as much as I wanted to lately, a cursory glance at the numbers floors me. In the month of January, I ran 69.37 miles.

69.37! And yeah, I take pride in that 0.37… I earned it.

So after years of neglecting this thing that I love to do, I ran more in one month since the year after college when I was addicted to road racing.

And when I really look at the numbers, more progress jumps off the page. The first week in January, I logged less than 12 miles. The first week in Feb? Over 15.  And tonight, I actually hit the treadmill for three miles before taking an hour long boot camp class. (Granted, I thought I was going to buy the farm on more than one occasion.)

So what does this mean? I guess it means “Weak Five” isn’t as great a title as I thought it was when I sat down to write. Maybe the title of this post should be progress, or even celebration. But I’ve always been the sort of guy who writes the title first and then rolls with the words, so the title stays.

However, you can bet Week Six won’t be as weak as the last.

Russ

…And in case you’re wondering, it’s 11:10 and I’m headed to bed. Gotta get up early you know 😉

 

Author: elektherelic

Russ Elek is a former Ohioian newly relocated to Vermont. He lives with his beautiful wife and occasionally takes a break to do a little blogging.

Leave a comment